Seven Courses

Sharing Options

Not only is this a covenant meal, with all the parties to the covenant alive and present, Scripture gives us another image to use with our grasp of the word testament. “For a testament is of force after men are dead: otherwise it is of no strength at all while the testator liveth” (Heb. 9:17). Here we have the image of a reading of a will. Our elder brother has died, and we have gathered to hear what He has left for us. Now of course, these images complement each other, and we do this in the full and certain knowledge of His resurrection. But even though He is risen, we remain His heirs. That part of this image is true enough.

In thinking about this, we can rely on the insights of the old Scots Reformed preacher John Willison. He points out that the executor of this will and testament in this world is the Holy Spirit. And as we have gathered to learn what we have received, we may learn it under the figure of a meal with seven dishes. This is a seven-course meal, and when you come in faith, you cannot leave hungry.

What are these seven dishes? First, you have pardon for sin sealed to the one who believes. The second course is peace and friendship with God. The third dish is the fact that we have been given adoption as heirs. After that comes peace of conscience. And then He gives to us comforting and strengthening graces. Then we are given the presence of Christ Himself, and communion with Him. The seventh is the outpouring of the Holy Spirit.

We are Christians. We live in this world, but we have not be left to languish.

So come, and welcome, to Jesus Christ.

Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
robin khokhar
7 years ago

Well defined seven courses……